[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Planning to quit my job next week

budlitebrad

Just got an offer from a private accounting firm, so I plan to give notice next week. The pay is slightly more, but I'm mainly doing it to get out of public accounting. I have a much bigger interest in private equity and hedge funds and this seems like a good place to start.

I've had this job since I graduated and before that I just interned, so I've never quit a serious job before. Should be a little awkward, but turnover has been common at my current firm.

Anyone have any previous experiences, good or bad?

It honestly does not need to be awkward. Turn in a letter of resignation. When they ask why (because regardless of what you write in the letter they will probably still ask), just tell them what you stated above. This is the career path you are really interested in. You appreciate your time there and all that you learned, but in order to do what you really want to do this is a move you need to make.

There's no blame and no discomfort in that. You can tell everyone how much you enjoyed working with or for them, and everyone gets to be happy. Except the 1 or 2 people that need to pick up the slack while the company drags it's feet on finding a replacement.

Out of curiousity, what do you mean by "private accounting firm"?

It's not a CPA firm that does financial statement audits, personal tax returns, or anything like that. They do back room accounting for private equity funds and other alternative investments.